PDA

View Full Version : O Death

InspektorF
June 28th, 2014, 09:01 AM
This is the fourth chapter of a project that I have been working on for a couple months. I was trying to drop hints in regards to what Fergus is, but after posting it on another site it seems I was too vague. I thought I would see what response this piece gets here. Looking for general feedback: grammar, spelling, etc. as well as whether you liked it or not, were the characters interesting, so on and so forth. Thank you for your time.

O Death Chapter 4

The bar was one of those places with sawdust strewn across the floor and a permanent smoky haze in the air where you could order a wide range of artery clogging items from a menu covered in decades old grease. In the corner, a mournful ballad of love lost wailed from a jukebox as old as the bar itself, half its lights burned out and several buttons missing.Fergus slid into a booth near the back, extracted a slightly sticky menu from the holder in the middle of the table and perused his choices with a critical eye--he did so love greasy, heart-attack-on-a-plate food and the best could only be found in dives such as this.

The waitress slouched over, a cigarette hanging off her lip and her hair teased into a tall rat's nest that needed a good washing and retouching of the roots.

"What'll ya have?" Her voice was as heavy with southern twang as her face was with dime-store make-up. Dark eyes, so at odds with her snowy white coif, regarded him from beneath a thick layer of frosty blue eye shadow. Her eyelashes were rather sparse but she had managed to coat them with enough mascara that what little she possessed resembled the legs of a spider stick out from around her blood-shot eyes.

He ordered the chicken-fried steak dinner and the local favorite brew, to be preceded by an order of jalapeño poppers. Spider-eyes drawled something about getting his order in right away and scurried off to the kitchen.