PDA

View Full Version : Sunburst Nursing Home

TylerMartin
June 8th, 2014, 05:53 AM
As I have mentioned elsewhere on this forum, I am new to writing and am getting frustrated with where to begin. So this piece is a product of me using a freewriting prompt tool. It gives me a prompt to start with, and every minute will have me throw in a new character, scene, dialogue, word, etc. So that is why the plot (what little plot there is) isn't very cohesive and pretty random. I tried to clean it up a little bit when I finished. Let me know what you think. I'm looking for ways I can improve my writing more than ways to improve this story, because I'm not planning on doing anything with it. Thank you so much!

--------------

"Time goes by so fast that all the days are starting to run together," the old woman said. "I can't even remember if today is Tuesday or Wednesday."

"Today is Saturday, Mrs. Reed," said the young man pushing her wheelchair.

"Saturday? It must be getting close to the end of May.

"Nope. It's the first Saturday of July." He parked her wheelchair at her spot in the dining room.

People were all over the room, bumping into wheelchairs and walkers, trying to find their places. The staff were everywhere leading people to their seats and trying to serve their drinks and clean up their spills. The entire dining room was full of chaos and confusion. It was a normal evening at the Sunburst Nursing Home.

Mrs. Reed, one of the meanest ladies in the nursing home, sat at her table, frowning. "I have been sitting here for almost an hour," she yelled. "I still have not gotten my spaghetti! He told me there would be spaghetti!"

"Mrs. Reed," the young man who was still with her said calmly. "It's only been about thirty seconds." He patted her shoulders.

"Get your hands off of me!" She struck him as hard as she could, which was not very hard.