PDA

View Full Version : Prologue/1st Chapter Excerpt, "The Immortal Joiner",2K Words, Do you like Druids?

dmr400
May 24th, 2014, 08:18 AM
Hello,

This is my first attempt at writing in a very long time, and is a story I've been outlining in my head for over a year. I'm worried that the opening relies too much on details that I've thought up and written in the outline and character summaries, but haven't actually made it into the story yet. Does this beginning draw you in, or confuse you? Thanks in advance!

Prologue

As his grove of trees was immolated by fire Allund hung silent while his mind screamed with sympathetic agony. He could hear the screams of his lover Aldis as she burned within the grove, the feral cries for help too much for his mind to process. Pinned to a Tree by an iron spike through his throat, he watched helplessly as everything he held dear slowly became ashes in the valley below his home. As he felt his lifewater trickling down his chest and back from the wound in his neck he thought of the ancient chords he could sing to draw healing strength from the tree he was suspended from, but with the spike piercing his voice box he could make no sound. Eventually, it was too much and he lost consciousness for the first time in nearly 18 centuries.