PDA

View Full Version : Among the Stars (First two reports)

Ephemeral_One
May 14th, 2014, 01:07 PM
Part 1: How Dragons Play

Reports Submitted by: Staff Sergeant Martin DuBont, 7th Internal Affairs Division

Report Submitted: 10 – 25 – 378 P.C.C.

I've really come to dislike restaurants since joining the military. My commanding officer brings us to this on base one every time someone else gets a promotion. I say someone 'else' as I've been stuck in the same rank and job for half a decade. This, at 31, makes me easily the oldest member of my unit. So, when it got passed around to meet for last meal at the restaurant, I felt like finding a rock to hide under. However, living on a space station offers a distinct lack of rocks. So, I'm a good soldier and followed orders. Unfortunately, the base tram broke down for the third time this week on my way making me the second to last to arrive.
The restaurant was as busy as ever as I walked in. Bright, cheerful lights and the movement of bodies across a carpeted plains dotted with tables. Booths with visiting families lined the walls. Several in the center had been pushed together.

Recognizing the rest of the 7th record keeping division around the table, I dodged several waiters. We follow other units around and act as reporters for the higher ups. I say 'we' but as I'm 'older' they have me handle most of the menial paperwork now. Thus, a meeting between the whole of the unit isn't too common. Lieutenant Tellman, my commanding officer, waved me over.