PDA

View Full Version : A Sort of Sci-Fi Thing (800 words)

Gyarachu
May 2nd, 2014, 05:48 AM
So I've never written anything sci-fi before, but for the sake of exercise I wrote a short thing that I think may possibly have the option of maybe being considered to be what's sometimes referred to generally as a thing often called "flash fiction." Maybe. I think. *shrugs*

Here.

The sound of the buzzer shook the arena air.

“And that’ll do it folks!” the announcer’s gusto-filled voice rang through the speakers. “Rotogun has been annihilated and everyone’s favorite gladiator will be moving unscathed into the third and final round of this week’s tournament. Stay tuned, you don’t want to miss this!”

Lane stood in front of a crackling heap of metal and electronics. Not the craftiest robot he had ever faced, but he had made it a bit dramatic anyways; the audience, after all, paid for his meals.

He knelt and picked up a large mechanical hand from the red dirt of the arena floor. The cannon was still mostly intact, possibly salvageable. He shook it clean as he turned and headed for the door of his pod. Passing by jagged red and black boulders, he looked up. The cheers of the audience had died down, but in their shielded stadium seating set against the darkness of star-filled space, their excited chatter still hummed in the air. Here and there cameras hovered about, broadcasting the event to the various solar systems of B-Sector. Lane shook his head. The lift doors slid open as he approached. He stepped in.

-----

Morin drummed his fingertips together in excitement. He could hear the lift descending. After a few moments the doors opened and out stepped a fully armored figure.

“Superb!” said Morin. “In record time. Even with your, uh… unique tactics.”

Lane grunted and handed him the hand.

“Ah, so you did get it. What luck!”

Lane took off his helmet. “I’d hardly call it luck, Morin.”

Morin chuckled. “Yes, yes. Of course. I’ll see what I can do with it for next week.”