PDA

View Full Version : Personal Challenge: A story per day (And the first story)

Deadally
March 4th, 2014, 07:55 PM
Hi all,

I've been around here off and on for a rather long time. I have always appreciated the time people spend reading and critiquing my stories. It is a great joy of mine to write, but as anyone is aware, finding motivation to write can be challenging.

Also, recently I finished my PhD work and am looking for a job. Now I fill the time with contracting work and thinking about several novels and novellas that I have very little confidence in writing. This is a terrible attitude! So I have decided to take this challenge for myself:

WRITE A SHORT STORY EVERY DAY FOR 30 DAYS. Today being March 4, 2014, I would be posting a story every day from now until April 3rd. This is a sort of declaration post, and it's also my first crack at the challenge, a story I wrote based on a prompt. It uses a character I've been building in my head for a while. Thank you for reading this mini-manifesto, and thank you for reading my story. I would love to hear anything you have to say about it!

The writing prompt was something like "You just received a breakup letter from a piece of furniture." That led me to this work, entitled "Dear Loser." (~2400 words)
-----------------------------

There’s a crushing despair I feel whenever I wake up from a night of partying. Usually, the first thought I have is “I think I’m going to die of thirst.” A quick chug of my filled water bottle takes care of that, more or less. Next, I feel that same visceral pain in my lower back. It’s symmetrical and makes me wonder if I finally did my kidneys in. After the previous night, I wouldn’t be too surprised if things started giving up on me, anyway.