PDA

View Full Version : Burn The Witch

Inkheart
February 10th, 2014, 01:35 AM
Hey, everyone! I wrote this short story inspired by my Science and Society class (we were talking about science in the dark ages and how you could basically be killed for something as simple as being able to read) and I was hoping for some constructive criticisms and tips. I'm not that experienced at writing short stories, but it is something I want to work on.
I mostly want to focus on sentence flow, pacing, and writing quality in general. So if you could please tell me what you think about it, what I did well and what I could improve, I'd be very grateful.
The title is Burn the Witch.

The stagnant smell of oil was what brought me back to consciousness. A cold, icky wetness seeped down my shoulders, down the front of my body and my back; as thick and sticky as tree sap.
Pain exploded in my lungs when I tried to take a breath, pulling a low groan from my lips. The whole world spun around me; a shrill ringing was barely perceptible on the edge of my hearing. I tried to take another breath but my chest was so constricted I could only manage a strangled gasp, and more pain.
“She’s awake,” a man whispered.
“It,” a woman corrected.
I blinked my eyes until the world came into focus. In the steadily growing shadows of twilight I found myself surrounded by a large group of people; villagers, from the town visible in the darkness, dressed in rags and caked in dirt; a league of men dressed in elegant robes and carrying golden crosses and black leather-bound books. They stared at me with such a coldness that I could not gaze at them for long. Fear sparked inside of me.
I tried to move my arms but my wrists were tied around a tall wooden pillar. I glanced down and saw I was standing on a stack of firewood that, like myself, was soaked in oil.
My heart began pounding quickly in my chest as I realized what was going on.
“She-witch!” the villagers began to some scream, and “Devil worshipper!”