PDA

View Full Version : A.08 - First Ceremony

vcnavega
December 27th, 2013, 08:36 PM
“The day after we scattered Valter’s ashes, the first funeral ceremony was performed at the Keshi Ghata, in the banks of the Yamuna River. That place is really beautiful, you know. I wish I knew how to describe it with words, but words can’t do it, even if I was a good writer, which I am not. Keshi Ghata is like Heaven on Earth, and I am not a heavenly being. I knew when I was there I was in a place that didn’t belong to this dimension.”
That ceremony didn’t demand much from me in terms of speaking Sanskrit, but I was introduced to other things I didn’t know I knew. Most of the chanting was done by the priest himself, and it was quite complex, I wouldn’t be able to repeat those words anyway if they’d wanted me to. My role on that ceremony was to feed my brother and my ancestors and then to unite my brother with them – but the process for doing that is very ritualistic, and that demanded my whole attention. I couldn’t think about the Italians, and even the monk who was trying to translate the priest’s instructions for me bothered me. I had to tell that monk to stop at one point, I was able to understand his Hindi and signs quite well, and didn’t need translation. I needed to focus on the mudras I was expected to perform. Mudras are gestures we do with the hands and they are
extremely complicated – right hand does one thing, left hand another; you use your fingers in different positions. I felt some lack of motor coordination at the beginning, because some of the gestures are very difficult, but the priest told me I was doing it perfectly. He would say “Bahut acchat”, ‘very good, very good’!