PDA

View Full Version : Umpqua's Decalcifier - 500w, ramble

Pluralized
December 19th, 2013, 12:07 AM
Leaves crunched underfoot like the shells of desiccated insects. I looked down at my wrist-clock and noted the hour. Since cutting power to the perimeter fence and poisoning the two tower watchmen, I studied the sky and estimated how long it would be before the Helisects were dispatched and I would be liquefied.

A shaft of sunlight cleaved the forest and melted the frost from the valley floor. Massive hardwoods looked down upon my progress as if to mock my natural vulnerability and protest my animal mobility. I trudged on, climbing the ridge toward the mechanism. I reached the rusting hulk of iron and stood before it, breathing through my mouth and trying to calm the adrenalin pumping through my bloodstream. This was it, just where he’d indicated. Thoughts came to me rapidly, one after another. To secure it, analyze its dimensions would have to come first, then I’d escape through the northern edge of the property. A sigh inadvertently went out of me as I thought of the way he’d described the northern plague fields, and how the tar was rumored to stick to a man’s boots, then soak right in through the leather and all, infecting him with the Weakness. These days, ways to catch it were everywhere, and I would have to move quickly to avoid the tar. Cold temperatures and a hard ground meant it was just possible, but only if I didn’t linger and let the sun heat the earth.