PDA

View Full Version : The Golden Turtles

gusgus
July 4th, 2013, 03:45 PM
This is my first try on Children's books. I posted the pages of the story as a slideshow in this link : [link removed]

Also the title was changed from "Will this story entertain children?" to "The Golden Turtles" as the original title didn't adhere to site guidelines.

Summary : one friend is rich, one is poor. One day the rich friend loses something valuable and reluctantly suspects that the poor friend has taken it. Of course the poor friend hasn't taken anything, but he admits that he has and then spends a great deal of money to have that thing remade and gives it to the rich friend because he knows how much the rich friend likes it; so in case it never turns up, the rich friend can still be happy.
Then of course the truth is found out at the end.

My goal is to have the parents read and absorb the idea of the story and then retell it to their children in their own way.
This is created based on a popular Asian folktale. Feel free to criticize, I would appreciate it very much :)

I removed the post temporarily to make some corrections. ;-)

Sintalion
July 8th, 2013, 03:34 PM
It's a very cute story and you did a nice job with it. As an adult the blip I pick up on quickly is that there is a four year old in the house and they don't get considered? I don't know about you, but when stuff goes missing or breaks many parents consider their kids as suspects and don't just assume a friend did it.

Olly Buckle
July 8th, 2013, 03:52 PM
"After a few days mi can to see Ran"Typo.

I liked the story, my daughter liked the pictures, there are minor points like Sintalion picked up on, but I don't think it matters for small children, they believe in all sorts of things like, Santa and the Tooth Fairy, which won't hold water for an adult mind.

gusgus
July 8th, 2013, 05:32 PM