PDA

View Full Version : above the Planet NSFW (Language)

DPVP
June 25th, 2013, 04:19 PM
Hi, this is my first thing im putting up for critiquing. its the opening to a science fiction book im trying to write. im pretty new to writing so i need lots of help. thank you in advance.

Battle Marshal Higgins stood in the control room of the star-ship Helenpous. Standing still his hands clasped behind his back, moving nothing but his eyes, his lips curved down as they always do. A hologram of the planet below them was projected into the center of the room; all around the hologram computers were filled with personal controlling the ship.

“Looks as dry as my wife’s cooking” Higgins commented to no one in particular. There was no particular humor in his voice, just the need to say something. He had not eaten his wife’s cooking in years.

The hologram of the desert planet shimmered; the planet was habitable around the North Pole. There, the land went from arid to a semi-arid with shrubby plants protected by mountains. There were signs of ancient rivers that carved canyons in the north, but those rivers no longer ran. The planet’s greenest areas were easily the mountains that caped the planet. Higgins had heard the reports from the scout crafts, but it was the not the planets geography that had brought him out this far from the farm.

The scot craft reported that there were people on the planet. They had limited industry and their technology was archaic, but the scout crafts were unable to find anything that appeared to be the old research facilities they had been sent to find.