PDA

View Full Version : Novel-V.A.S.T.-Chapter 1

raines80
April 21st, 2013, 10:49 PM
I want to thank everyone for reading my first chapter. I have 185 pages completed of the book, but I wanted to get your thoughts on the first chapter. Please try and disregard the punctuation errors. I am terrible at that, but thankfully I have a wife who had a degree in English. She will be taking care of that part for me later on. My real concerns are the story, the flow and the characters. Please let me know what you think. Any and ALL comments are welcome!

V. A. S. T.
Virtually Augmented Social Technology

Chapter 1

Michael Raines Social Sciences – Period 4 March 12th, 2073

The Invention of the Circle of Life

The C.O.L., Circle of Life, became the norm around 2055. Gone were the square, above ground dwellings with their backyards and driveways. Actual windows with designer curtains and shutters were now just pixels on an OELD monitor. Why would anyone want a window in a subterranean steel biosphere anyways?

It only took one major event that led to the need for the human race to move below ground into the C.O.L. biospheres. It took a few more “events” for the human race to move off planet. Correction, most of the human race has moved off planet. I am one of the lucky few whose grandparents stayed behind. (Side note: My grandparents had watched the unveiling of C.O.L. on an antique communication device they called “cable”. Grandma says it was a spectacular show with singing and dancing. The Circle of Life development team used an old song from a movie called “The Lion King” that she had watched when she was a child.)