PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on intro?

MBNewman
March 21st, 2013, 08:40 AM
Hey if you gents and ladies would be kind enough to browse over this revision of the intro, I would be much obliged. It's serves as an explanation for why the story is being told, and I just want to make sure it works well enough as a hook.

The Brookrow Bastard:

Some would call me murderer, thief, criminal; to these accusations, I cannot object. I have earned each of them.

I am no saint, nor a man of honor. Though, I am not some wretched demon, conjured from the depths of the Infernal Abyss. In truth, I am only a veteran of the cruelty of man, and a survivor of the cold streets. Though my foes have been many, none have ever deterred me.

Town criers, the local press, and two-bit storytellers all offer different variations of my tale, though they gleam with exaggerated half-truths, diluted by word of mouth. The reality of it all, however, is far darker than the story of how the Brookrow Bastard became sealed in infamy.

I was not born a killer. No one is. We are products of our environment, molded by the decisions of others. I was told that the gods predetermined the paths that we take, that everything happens for a reason. My life, as I would learn at a very young age, was destined for suffering, and I saw no reason. I had the makings to become a productive, gods-fearing member of society. Alas, fate had weaved a different path for me.

I wonder sometimes, when I am alone with a bottle of brandy, why things had to end up this way. In my drunken stupor, my mind always wanders back to my childhood, and how it was torn from me.

My name is Killian Todd. I am the Brookrow Bastard.

Fressno
March 21st, 2013, 08:48 AM
Very good start. Nicely explain. I guess its in a 1600-1700 century setting. But i dont know, just a feeling :) very good. Im hooked. More please :)

MBNewman
March 21st, 2013, 09:03 AM