PDA

View Full Version : The Engineer's Corner

SouthernRiver4
February 24th, 2013, 05:17 PM
If I could get this pinned to the top, that'd be sick! But I think that this would be a popular enough thread that it will stay on top, anyway.

So basically, this is just a thread for anyone who does audio engineering either professionally, semi-professionally, or amateur.

Talk about your equipment, your projects, give tips and advice, and discuss all things engineering!

Bloggsworth
February 24th, 2013, 07:03 PM
Since the early 70s I have built my own loudspeakers, I have been using my third pair for the last 30+ years, having sold the previous 2 pairs at a profit (both are still in use as far as I know). I have an Linn LP12 which is 30 years old and will outlive me, Yaqin valve power amplifier, Croft valve pre-amplifier, Creek tuner and Marantz CD player + about 700 LPs and 100s of CDs. I built my own FM tuner in the early 70s, using a Practical Wireless design, which, using an indoor TV aerial in London, I could receive French FM stations, unfortunately when the Mullard decoder failed, I could no longer get a spare, so it had to go.

When my daughter's friends of the iPod generation come round, I enjoy letting them feel what true bass reproduction really is, they can't get over the shaking floorboards!

Note the pyramid shape some 10 years before the big names cottoned on to the advantages of no internal standing waves. Sorry about the quality of the picture.

SouthernRiver4
February 24th, 2013, 07:08 PM