PDA

View Full Version : impermanence (300~ words)

live. die. be.
January 20th, 2013, 08:05 AM
Notes: This is my first time posting a story here, so I'm excited to get some critique. This is a part of what will eventually be a longer work, possibly a novel. Can stand on it's own (I think). I'm posting it to the main board, because I really don't think it fits into any of the sub-boards. 300~ words, short and sweet for a first post, right?

impermanence

~

There are certain things that you could never bring yourself to believe in. They included: death, and hatred, and loss. There are also some things that you did believe in. They included: love, and hope, and dreams.

~

You were a dreamer, and you always had been. As a child, you lived in books and fairytales. You never knew the cruelty of the world, you knew the good, and never the bad.

You had a heart big enough for all the world, and you loved so fiercely.

You lived in a fairytale world, never removing your rose-tinted glasses. Everything was perfect.

(this is how it starts: one death changes everything.)

Time passes, and people move on. You don't; you mourn, and you keep mourning.

After a while, you stop believing in hope. Then, you stop hoping at all. After a while, you stop loving; there no longer seems to be any point.

You no longer dream. Your books collect dust, and you close your mind to everything else but grief.

Later, you'll stop believing.

(this is how it goes: dreamers stop dreaming, and lovers stop loving.)

You think that the people who say that death is not the end, are liars. You think that death is the end, of everything. You hate it; you long for the days where death was not something you thought of.

You don't believe in life anymore, because while you are living, at the same time you are not. Mostly not; you're not living, because you are so lost without him.

You've taken off your rose-hued glasses, to see the world for what it truly is, and you hate it.