PDA

View Full Version : I just want to write 3

Olly Buckle
December 12th, 2012, 08:53 PM
If you read the first parts of this you know there has been a good bit of information; introducing the concepts of feet and rhythm, stressed and unstressed syllables, iambs, trochees, anapaests, pentameters, all sorts of stuff. I used some of it looking at a Wordsworth poem in part two, but I have not laid it out in a very ordered fashion, and there are bits missing. I am not writing a text book.

There is, however. some methodology in my random insanity, I aim to be read. It could be argued this is dilettante stuff, but I would rather err on the side of the casual than be terribly intense, erudite, more impenetrable than the poems I am talking about, and unread except by those who already have the information. If people want more information (And I hope they do), it is there.

A word of warning, I am self taught. It is common for self taught people to have gaps in their knowledge, and I see no reason why I should be an exception, my omissions may not all be deliberate.

In this part rather than looking at the work of others I wanted to look at some things those who ‘Just want to write’ might consider in their own work.

Lines;
Poetry is usually split into lines, this is not done casually, where they end and where they begin matter. Nor should lines be only a vehicle for progressing from the line before them to the line after them. They often do that, of course, but they should have intrinsic reasons for being as well.

Making a line break will affect the sound of the poem, and often it will also affect the meaning. Enjambment is a term used to describe breaking a phrase or an idea so that it carries on from one line to the next, straddling the two. This can have a connective quality, and can also emphasise the meaning of one or the other (or both) halves, consider,

“Where he was born and bred: the churchyard hangs
Upon a slope above the village-school;”