PDA

View Full Version : Character Introduction/Opening Page

prulhiere36
May 21st, 2012, 06:41 PM
I am very new to this. Before I waste a lot of time writing, I would love it if someone could just read my character introduction/opening page, and tell me if I am descriptive enough, or to much. In general, do I have even enough writing ability to go on, or should I wait til I learn more. I know that is hard to tell from a small portion, but hopefully it is enough to see if I am on the right track. Thanks in advance.

The Barn

“It's hard to believe it has been fifty years now.” said Charles in a low, barely audible tone.
His wife Thelma responded as she ever so slightly nodded her head.
“It sure is. Lord, it surely is.”

The two set in the front room of the old farm house with the silence only being interrupted by the small crackles from the fireplace. Both filled with sadness, just passing time, on a day they neither one want to remember or ever forget. Losing a child never seemed to get any easier even after all the decades that had passed.

Charles was getting “old” as he would put it. He was now seventy seven. His face showed the typical wear of life on a farm. He adorned the usual attire of a farmer wearing a red and black flannel shirt and a pair of old faded bib overalls. One look at his feet could tell a story as his boots showed many of scuff and scrape from the days he has spent raising crops. Charles Connolly was proud of his Irish heritage, and would remind people from time to time that his last name translates into
“fierce as a hound.”
He would always give a look after he said it like he meant it.
He was the kind of man who shaved everyday, and only took his old hat off long enough to comb his silver hair back over.