PDA

View Full Version : Kitty (A short story)

Lilly Davidson
April 30th, 2012, 01:17 AM
Dear Readers,

I hope I am doing this correctly, first time I have done this - quite scary really! Keep in mind that I am a beginner but be truly honest about what works or not please.

Kitty

By Lilly Davidson

Mrs Katz lived in the village of Stoneridge in Staffordshire. Today, like every Wednesday, she welcomed her two oldest friends warmly into her immaculate bungalow for elevenses. They always enjoyed a chat with homemade cake and fresh coffee. Sunshine streamed into her gleaming spotless kitchen. Her tabby cat, Kitty, weaved sashaying around their feet before settling regally onto her red silk cushion on the windowsill. From there she gazed impassively at them with huge emerald eyes.

Margaret and Dorothy were sisters in their seventies and just as immaculately turned out as Mrs Katz. All three ladies wore impeccable makeup and had beautiful manicures. The sisters had both gone naturally stylishly grey but Mrs Katz defiantly sported a coiffure of rich auburn waves. She was older than them but looked younger than her 82 years and was normally the most vociferous. Today her husky accented voice was noticeably subdued. Her heart was heavy and she did not know how to put it into words.

‘I got my test results’ she eventually told them. ‘Pancreatic cancer, I have maybe three months left’. Margaret and Dorothy sat still and then spoke at once.

‘Oh Rina, no!’ they protested, tears starting up and mouths open.

‘No, no, none of that my dears’ said Mrs Katz pretending to be firm.
‘It is just my time, it comes to us all. I only ask you to please look after Kitty for me’. Years ago she had arranged for these two oldest of her friends to be her joint executors and willed everything to them. She had no family so it made sense.