PDA

View Full Version : South West

Jeff C
April 3rd, 2012, 04:38 AM
Hey guys, posting up the first bit of my chapter one of a story/series I'm working on. It has two "bad" words, so brace yourself.:rolleyes:
This is my first attempt at an actual novel and would love some input on it so far.

A little background of the world:

The year 2071, The world is recovering from a disastrous war that enveloped most of the world. Economies, governments, and whole countries collapsed. The United States, struggling financially for the past 70 years, decided to enact a state of isolationism after the long Middle Eastern conflict it had been engaged in for most of the new millennium, deciding they could not afford another war. Though, through that decision the country was divided and the domino was tipped for a revolution.

The United States as we know it has collapsed through a long catastrophic 23 year civil war. While the old regime still has some control in the North East and have set up a temporary government in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, they have all but lost the Western half and the Southern sections of the US. The Southern states and representatives have reformed into a temporary government known as the Eastern Democratic States. While out west the Gangs and militias of the US that formed during the war and the Cartels and War lords of latin america are in a violent power struggle for control of what was the American West.

The main character is a young man named Abbas (still working on a last name if I even give him one, pronounced, "Ab" - "bus"). He is the son of the militant leader of the Tridents(name for now) the largest militia group in the west, a naval based organization out of San Francisco. While on a trading mission with the Chinese, his supply ship is attacked by Latin Pirates, flying the colors of notorious War lord, Duece ("doo" - "say"). He and his crew are taken captive.