PDA

View Full Version : My Short Story (Rough Draft)

CrystalDreamer59
January 22nd, 2012, 08:38 PM
I have done a rough draft of a short story I've been working on. I need someone to critique without being too harsh and help me edit it since I'm not the best at grammar. A few things to note first this story is meant for people of all ages, second it is a fantasy story, but I tried not to go too heavy on the fantasy as that is not the focus of the story, third my writing style is not the best and could use vast room for improvement. I'm no professional writer. I merely write as a hobby.

Olly Buckle
January 22nd, 2012, 09:13 PM
Don't be shy, post the story and it will get looked at. My advice would be to get it into as good shape as you can and not precede it by anything like the above, simply post it as is without explanation and let people make their own minds up. If you feel you must say something I should put it at the end, so people don't approach it with preconceptions, but really you are better off without.

CrystalDreamer59
January 22nd, 2012, 09:18 PM
OK. I was just nervous since this is the first time I've shared my work with people. Hopefully no one will have any critiques that are too harsh. I can take a little criticism, but only so much.

Olly Buckle
January 22nd, 2012, 09:56 PM
Nervous of what? Words on a screen? It's okay, nobody knows who you are, unless CrystalDreamer59 happens to be your real name. There is very little point in writing unless you share it. Copy and paste below and I'll promise to come back for a look, but please don't put it all up if it's hugely long.

CrystalDreamer59
January 22nd, 2012, 11:14 PM
I think the story is too long to post in one thread so I'll break it up.