PDA

View Full Version : An Unexpected Arrival

Jamie
January 22nd, 2012, 02:40 AM
Thought I'd put up a part of what I've been working on for the past couple of days. It's my first attempt at writing and is a chapter called 'An Unexpected Arrival' from an as yet unnamed book aimed at ages 11-16 and perhaps higher depending on where the subject matter goes. This isn't the first chapter of the book, it'll be roughly chapter 3 or 4.

Just looking for some feedback on whether it's too wordy, draws you in or not, makes sense and flows easily, etc.

---------------------

An Unexpected Arrival

Opening his eyes, Felix moved them upward and across the wall towards the sound of the cuckoo clock which had been making so much noise and finally stirred him from his sleep. The tiny bird had cuckooed so many times he’d lost count and, almost as soon as his eyes fell upon it, had sprung back behind its small wooden doors, finally silent.

The clock itself, heavily decorated with carved leaves and other birds, was so big Felix wondered how it stayed hung to the wall, and as it ticked away softly his eyes were drawn to the large gold face at its centre. His gaze widened as he stared at the black embossed numbers around the outside. This was a clock unlike any Felix had ever seen. This clock had a dial numbered from one ... to fifty six.

Fifty six hours?

As far as a puzzled Felix could make out it was a little after thirty three o’clock.

The clock was very strange, but glancing around the rest of the room Felix had suddenly found himself in he thought everything else seemed pretty normal, if a little old fashioned. There was a television in one corner - at least, he guessed it was a television; it looked more like a toaster with a screen – and next to it was a small round wooden table, with a gleaming white teapot in the centre and several matching teacups, complete with saucers and teaspoons, all neatly placed around the outside. A bowl of heaped sugar lumps completed the set.