PDA

View Full Version : Arkansas to New York: A (Fake) Autobiography of a Redneck

Italy
January 2nd, 2012, 05:35 PM
This piece is best read out loud in a redneck voice.

The first time I got me a job, t’was at a local faire in Bald Knob, Arkansas. I was fresh outta high school with no money for college and parents who locked them’s door when I left. They never did like me, no siree. Kicked straight through the door at the age of eighteen, I was, left to fend for meself. I guess them’s the breaks.
Anywho, back in Bald Knob I was a souvenir salesman at the New Year’s fireworks faire, that lasted a whole week ‘ncase somebody missed ‘em. My living was made a’sellin goofy glasses shaped like “1986”, little stuffed puppies with plastic sticks attached to the back, and other goodies for the youngins. They was more or less a’beggin for 'em, ‘n their parents was buying ‘em. O’ course there wasn’t much money to be made- the other merchants ‘n I, we was makin’ a nickel a kid. Now I ain’t much good at math, but I think we made us two dollars a day. In other words, we was makin’ doodley-squat. The big boss, Mr. Brandt, took away one dollar, ‘n so we only took one dollar back to our trailer.
Now, one day I asked Mr. Brandt if maybe, jus’ maybe, I could keep them one-hundred cents he took away. Oh, he did get his overalls in a bunch, yesiree! That Mr. Brandt was a mean one. He wanted all the money for him ‘n his wife, Darcie, even though he was a’ownin’ the whole dang faire. Some people thought his cornbread ain’t done, that he ain’t havin’ a grain o’ sense in him. I’m a’guessing that to you, that means he ain’t got much in the smarts department.
“Mr. Brandt, I was a’wondrin’ if I could have me two dollars today instead o’ jus one. Y’know, to pay for some moonshine? I’d share it wit’ ya, I would.”