PDA

View Full Version : The Yard

River Girl
December 10th, 2011, 05:14 AM
Okay, so this is my first attempt at writing fiction, so be gentle, please. ;-) Any constructive criticism would be great! Here are the first two chapters.

The Yard (Ch. 1)

Dakin sat silently in the shadows of the kitchen corner, taking in the familiar scents of Emily’s Chicago apartment—a mixture of brewing Earl Grey tea, Dragon’s Blood incense, and cigarettes caught in the thick summer air pushing through the open windows. A breeze glanced across her skin, sending the faint aroma of her perfume through the dim light to dance in front of his nose before escaping through the screen door. He closed his eyes and conjured the feeling of holding her tiny frame, losing himself in her wide, yellow-green eyes as he brushed her long chestnut hair over her pale shoulders. God, she’s beautiful, thought Dakin, as he watched her make tea in the tiny studio kitchen. It broke his heart to see her look so sad, so hollow, so fragile.

How he longed to make a noise to let her know he was here, just a little noise, a push of the door just enough to make it squeak. It would be of comfort to her, wouldn’t it, to know she’s not alone? He nudged the door ever so slightly and the sticky hinges made a soft squeak.

Startled, Emily jumped, sending the teacup to the floor, shattering. As she turned toward the door, she thought she caught a glimpse of someone in the shadows. The hair on the back of her neck stood up. Damn. The last thing he had wanted was to frighten her, and he had done just that. Dakin shrank further into the corner and then quickly disappeared as Emily turned back to reach for the light switch.