PDA

View Full Version : Sample from children's book

Gumby
May 10th, 2011, 11:59 PM
I've been working on a children's book and doing the artwork myself, in Paint. Here is a sample page from the story.

Candra H
May 11th, 2011, 04:20 PM
It's really cute. I like the big eyes on the teacher and the general scruffiness to it. Gives it an endearing quality that really works for me as a children's illustration.

It looks a bit pixely though. Not sure if it's my screen settings or the result of a low dpi resolution on your end, but I found it difficult to read the plaque on the wall and the edges of things are a bit wonky because of it.

Gumby
May 11th, 2011, 11:51 PM
Thanks Candra, scruffy is exactly what I was going for. Yes, this is still a work in progress and I'm trying to smooth out those edges, the larger you make the picture, the worse they become. I'm new to Paint and find it frustrating in some ways, I don't have the control that I would like to have. :) Thanks again.

Candra H
May 12th, 2011, 08:20 PM
Cool. Good luck with it. I know what you mean about control with digital art. I'm on a steep learning curve about that myself and sometimes wonder how the **** these pro digital artists do it!

A trick about the pixely edges of things might be to set the initial image/page thing to something like 800x600. That way it fits in your screen size but allows you to go in a bit closer and get better detail. People talk about 300-600 dpi settings but I don't know if you need to go so big. Maybe 150 would do it?

No idea if any of that makes any sense, just thought I'd mention it in case it helps.

Gumby
May 13th, 2011, 04:53 AM
Thanks for that, Candra. :) I'm going back over all of the pictures and zooming in, then reworking or smoothing things, then going back to the original settings. Things do look better afterwards. :)

Gumby
May 15th, 2011, 06:37 PM