PDA

View Full Version : The burden of so-called principles

Mike
April 10th, 2011, 12:54 AM
I've been in and out of university since I was 18. I've attended five universities and studied architecture, international studies, Mandarin, Italian, Spanish, and various tracks in creative writing. I never finish these tracks to the point of actually getting a degree, because they require me to take classes of science, humanities, and mathematics in order to become well-rounded, even though I studied these general subjects in high school. It's my belief that being forced to take these courses in order to obtain a bachelor's degree is just another way for the university to take huge amounts of money from you. It's not to say that one shouldn't have a general grasp of these subjects, especially being able to write coherently. I just don't think I should have to know the basic applications of biology or astronomy if I have every intention of pursuing a creative writing degree.

So, I've formed a rather stone-faced principle when it comes to higher education. The last time I attended university (2009) was to really try to get a degree, because without it I'm pretty much stuck working near-minimum wage jobs. And we all know how exciting those can be.... I almost made it through one whole semester, because I stacked my schedule with classes I wanted to take. However, even then, I didn't attend two of the final examinations (I was earning top marks until then), because it occurred to me that I didn't really have to prove to anyone whether or not I could regurgitate what I had learned. I know what I had learned, and that was fine with me. And so I received two incomplete qualifications.