PDA

View Full Version : Frankie - 1626 words - Adult subjects and themes

Sync
December 17th, 2010, 05:48 PM
moving on

shadows
December 18th, 2010, 06:27 PM
Hi Sync

Well I'm a curious kind of person so thought I'd take a look at your story anyway.

A clever twist on the Frankenstein idea fused with Dracula. I like the characterisation and the sensuality. The blood as a lubricant was neat

As i said in the other thread, I am no expert so take my thoughts as just that.

I wondered at this

, watch as curtains in their one-bedroom apartment window flutter briefly in back-lit fluorescents before stilling into indistinguishable shadows.

and why the focus on the curtains becoming shadows as I more imagined the curtains fluttering and the couple being visible for a brief moment before becoming shadows again. Do you need indistinguishable?

“You bastard!" I hear her yell, its volume pierces a cloudless night, so much so, that even trees around me shiver.

full stop after yell.

So much so that is a bit of a mouthful when you could say -

making even the trees around me shiver

Do you need upstairs since the focus is already on them in the bedroom?

“Why can’t I have a real man? Huh? Not something put together with spare parts.” Her sneer is evident even from this distance. It’s not her fault, they're just bits of old memories coming back. Sometimes that happens. I sense his confusion, hear him lumber about picking up discarded clothing, lacing up his thick leather boots clumsily in a hurry to get out. Frankie is intimidated by women. It is a fear his father, Victor, can‘t seem to weed out.

Frankie suffered from acute brain damage at his birth, it is no fault of his that others’ human nature hate him so.

full stop after birth.

others' human nature hate him so reads awkwardly and would be better without human nature in

so pain from dis-illusions falls heavy, like monsoon rains when it comes to Frankie’s feelings.