PDA

View Full Version : The Shadow Of The Secret

AuroraEmerald
December 16th, 2010, 08:53 PM
Hey Guys!

I'm new to the online writing community but would love some feedback on some of the first chapter of my novels.

I'll be more than happy to read/comment on anything you have written.

Thanks!

Copyright L Mollon 2010

The taxi pulled up at the corner of the street. I couldn’t hold back a sigh, I just wanted to go home to bed after the day I‘d had, why was he stopping this far away.

‘My flat is a little further up the street, number 17,’ I told the small, elderly driver.

‘I’m well aware of what number you told me, but there’s all sorts of havoc up the road, not a chance of getting my cab up there my love,’ he replied loudly, whilst eyeing me heavily in the rear view mirror.

I passed him a some money and pulled myself towards the door. That’s when I saw it, havoc had been a huge underestimation, this was pandemonium.

There were 3 fire engines, several police cars and a hell of a lot of people. I quickened my pace and as I passed the corner, I was frozen to the spot.

Shit.

The flames were huge and angry as they lashed the full height of the 4 storey building, my apartment building.

Shit.

Something clicked and my body couldn’t move fast enough, I had to get closer. My brain screamed furiously at me to stop as my legs built up speed that would have made an Olympic athlete proud, my body always seemed to overrule my head. I pushed passed people as swiftly as I could, trying not to attract too much attention to myself, but my body pulled me frantically towards the inferno that burned rapidly before my eyes. I reached the last of the line of police cars that were acting as a blockade to keep everyone at a fair distance. I watched the hectic movement of police officers, firemen and the paramedics around the stretch of vehicles, it shouldn’t be hard to slip past unnoticed.

As I took a gentle calculated step forward, a hand grasped my shoulder.

Damn!

‘Sofia!’