PDA

View Full Version : Goin' Home.

k3ng
December 4th, 2010, 03:59 AM
Time for some fun news.

It has been quite a journey. Some of the staff here know the reason for a much extended absence from the site.

Over the past 2 or 3 months I've been on the offensive in my hunt for a job. I graduated music college in September and have been in pursuit of a substantial music job here in Hollywood. It hasn't been easy. It's brought something to my attention that while there may be much more opportunity here for the musician, there's is ample professional competition.

The guys I'm competing with for a job are literally the guys whom I've listened and admired growing up. The heroes who've inspired me are working in the studios next door and they're vying for the same jobs I am. It's ridiculous. And incredibly challenging.

Among the many jobs I aimed for there were a couple of cruise gigs that I applied for. I sent out my resume and waited for one of them to call me back. And one did. I was given the audition and I pretty much nailed it. The positive feedback from the company was incredible and they immediately tried to work a contract for me.

Well, that gig is now confirmed. I set sail in July for the caribbean! As a musician on a boat! Full time paid gig AND travel included? Nothing short of a dream come true. I think it's a huge second step (the first being coming out here and sticking myself through music college) in my career as a professional musician.

With that gig confirmed, I wasn't sure what to do next. I've got a couple of months before that starts and still a valid permit to work in the states. I could spend time here and connect with more people in the industry and try and work something out before flying out there.