PDA

View Full Version : Just a snippet

Prog_Bassist
December 3rd, 2010, 07:27 AM
Hey guys, I'm working on a novel and I just want to get some opinions on what to do regarding proper grammar. I'm a new writer and I'm just going to post a little snippet of my writing to just get some critique on it. It's first draft, and I am aware that I may have some problems with proper sentence structure... could someone give me some advice here?
I am only posting a snippet of it because I am hoping that some day if it gets finished and gets a good edit/reworking grammar wise than I'm going to try to get it published.

Anyway please give it a look, it's only about 3 paragraphs anyway so it won't be too much trouble to critique :P

here it is:

I took a momentous drag of that cigarette. The kind of puff that you'd take from an inhaler if you were in the middle of an asthmatic attack, but this was hurting me more than helping me. I thought about my mother and how she used to smoke. I used to sit there on the couch playing video games late at night when she would just be coming in the door from a night out with the girls. She'd stagger into the apartment like an animal with her short, bedraggled hair and her smeared lipstick, drunk and practically flying on some sort of stimulant. Those nights were long and sometimes they'd feel like they were never going to end. I'd stay up all night until she came home, I couldn't help it even though she'd punish me every time. I was only nine years old and I just couldn't sleep when there was no one around to take care of me. I was terrified, so I'd sit right there on that couch until she came home. Some nights she didn't come until sunrise, or not until the following night if she had found a hook up.