PDA

View Full Version : The Book of Hours (excerpt)

madalyn
September 24th, 2010, 07:28 AM
This is an excerpt (in rough draft) from the fantasy novel I am working on. It's towards the end so please bear with and focus on writing style rather than plot. I would love your feedback positive or negative. That said, please be gentle as I am a rather nascent writer!

A woman’s voice, tremulous but full of authority, came through what I assumed was a closed door.
“Who knocks?” it groaned.
“It is I, ma’am,” pronounced Eusebius, “with one who begs your audience.”
“A mess -- a message -- a -- oh GOD! -- ooooh my insides... have th-they a message?”
I did not hear the eunuch answer.
“Oh, come on in,” the Queen said with exasperation.
Eusebius led me by the hand into the room. I felt myself pushed gently into a chair, which was hard but comfortable enough. The door shut again as the chief eunuch left. The only sounds now in the room were the steady wheezing and panting of the Queen and, very softly, music I recognized at once -- Boccherini. I smiled as though the familiarity were a ray of light penetrating my blindness. I heard the Queen shift in her bed.
“Your name, messenger?” she said. Her tone was haughty, but I heard a great tension in her voice that meant she was restraining her moans and cries for the sake of politeness -- and with great difficulty.
As I opened my mouth to respond, something wrenched oddly in my forehead. Something was lodged in between my mind and my mouth.
“What, are you a mute as well?” cried the Queen. “Your name! Have you got one?”
I shook my head sadly.
“You... ah, but of course,” she mused. “Please forgive me. I often forget that she takes them. I suppose she’ll have quite a few by now.” She lapsed into silence for a few moments as if speculating on this.
“So...” she broke in hoarsely, “what brings you to me, blind one? What do you ask... or is it a message incumbent upon you to convey? Speak.”