PDA

View Full Version : Smugglers (working title)

Sonofjoe
September 2nd, 2010, 05:07 PM
This is my first attempt at a TV drama/action/comedy script. What have I got wrong? What have I got right? Below is the fist eight - ten minuets. I would like to hear your thoughts on dialogue, scene settings etc. I understand that the format is not showing as it should be :-(

The story is set in 1730 North Yorkshire.

FADE IN

EXT.OFF SHORE NORTH SEA.DAWN
One mile off shore a twin mast schooner is at anchor. Two men in a rowing boat head towards the schooner. Slightly rough seas. Wind and rain.

INT.EXCISE OFFICE. SCARBOROUGH TOWN.DAWN
Charles LeGrey, late 30s imperious, is standing behind a large desk looking out of a window on to an 18th century harbour. Rain. Some people milling about carrying fishing nets and lobster pots.

LEGREY

Yes... yes indeed. I’m going to enjoy my time here. I’ll show those thieving scoundrels that I’m not one to be messed with. They have picked the wrong man if they think they can get one over Charles Legrey.
Three men walk in to the office: William Vine early 30s, Henry Fisher early 30s and Robert Sutton late teenager. LeGrey turns and greets them.

LEGREY

Good morning gentlemen. I have one thing to say to you, my good fellow Riding Officers. I hope you are all prepared. Today is going to be a good day for you, the Customs and Excise and King George.
EXT.NORTH SEA
The rowing boat is at the hull of the schooner fighting the swell. Jacob Coles, well built late thirties, is holding a rope attached to the schooner looking up. Joss Graham, slight build early 20s, is standing with arms upwards waiting to grab hold of something being lowered.

COLES

I asked for three! Two’s not going to pay. I asked for three and I want three! Or - you will not do business on this coast again - understand! You know my money’s good captain, AND, my word! Now send down three!
DUTCH ACCENT (VO)